Eleanor Is Losing Her Mind

“Hi sweetie! How are you?” Sadie Richards cheerfully greeted Eleanor the moment her friend of ten years arrived at their favourite coffee shop for their weekly Wednesday night get together.

“Not so good,” Eleanor said in return. “I think I’m losing my mind.”

“Oh no. Sit down and tell me what’s going on,” a concerned Sadie said.

“This morning, while I was cleaning up from breakfast, I put the cereal box in the fridge and the milk carton in the cupboard instead of the other way around . How crazy is that?” a glum Eleanor said.

“You just had a brain fart, that’s all. Everybody has them once in awhile,” Sadie reassured her.

“But I’ve had lots of brain farts lately. I mean, just listen to this…”

Eleanor then proceeded to describe her long list of brain farts . There were the eye glasses she spent half an hour looking for only to discover she had been wearing them the whole time, the PIN Code for her debit card she totally blanked on, the pot she left cooking on the stove, the embarrassment she felt when she couldn’t recollect her hairdresser’s name – the same hairdresser she’s been going to for the last eight years, and her inability to remember what that part of the body between the head and the shoulders was called when she went to the doctor to complain about it being sore.

“You mean the neck?” Sadie asked before bursting into laughter. “You think that’s bad…I woke up the other day, felt ripped off by my inability to sleep in on weekends when I looked at the clock and saw that it was 7:30, decided to make the most of it and throw the sheets in the washer and then go grocery shopping, only to come home and find a message from my boss on the answering machine asking me why I wasn’t at work yet. It was Friday, not Saturday!”

“So you don’t think I have early on-set Alzheimer’s or a brain tumor then?” Eleanor asked.

“Well if you do, then I have just as bad of a case, and what are the chances of that? It’s probably just stress. Don’t worry about it,” Sadie said.

So Eleanor decided not to worry about it and to enjoy her coffee instead. A half hour later she would worry about it again, though, once she went outside and discovered she had locked her keys in the car. Until then, she would simply enjoy her coffee.

Leave a Reply

