Alan Rickman is a Saint

Personally, I think it’s a huge injustice the way people talk about British screen legend, Alan Rickman.  Say his name and you’re likely to hear “The villain from Die Hard?  Yeah, that guy is a total badass.”  Or, “Didn’t he play the evil Sheriff of Nottingham in Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves?”  Or, “He was a total creep in Bob Roberts.” They just talk about the bad guy roles.  No one ever brings up his tender and heart breaking performances in Truly, Madly, Deeply or An Awfully Big Adventure.

Would a bad guy be with the same woman since the age of nineteen?  Would Emma Thompson have done all of those movies with him?  She even had her mother co-star with her in The Winter Guest, the movie Alan wrote and directed.  No one signs their mother up to hang around evil for weeks on end.

Alan Rickman is a saint, through and through.  I know this for a fact because one day Alan Rickman saved my life.  It happened while I was in a pub in New York City with some friends.  Alan came in and sat at the table next to us.

‘Oh my God, it’s Alan Rickman!’ I thought.  ‘The greatest actor ever!  Sitting next to us!  My idol!  I should see if I can get a picture with him or an autograph.’

But then I thought, ‘No, leave the poor man alone.  He’s just here for a pint.  Let him enjoy his evening in peace.’

A few minutes later a friend of mine said something funny.  The kind of funny that might have called for a pair of Depends if I were ten years older because that’s how close I came to peeing my pants.  Only instead of pissing myself laughing, I chocked on a handful of peanuts that I had popped into my mouth seconds before my friend revealed the punch line.

Panic ensued.  No one knew what to do.  No one, that is, except for Alan Rickman.  He immediately rushed over, threw his arms around me (something that would have been totally sexy under better circumstances) and performed the Heimlich.  Yes, in addition to being a Shakespearean trained actor. Alan Rickman knows the Heimlich.

“Are you alright, miss?” he asked in that dreamy one-of-a-kind voice of his.

“Yes,” I replied with a bit of a rasp of my own.  “Thank you so much.  You saved my life.”

So the next time you talk about Alan Rickman, don’t go on about how great he is at playing criminals.  Spread the word that one night Alan Rickman saved a woman’s life, because that’s the sort of thing that saints do.

3 thoughts on “Alan Rickman is a Saint

Leave a Reply

